Booker Prize winning authors

Booker Prize Winners

A list of past winners of the Booker prize. A prestigious literary prize awarded to the best fiction novel written in English by a citizen of the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland.

This year's booker prize was awarded on the the 10th of October 2006.

Past winners of the Booker Prize for Fiction

Year Booker Prize
Winning Novel
2006Kiran DesaiThe Inheritance of Loss
2005John BanvilleThe Sea
2004Alan HollinghurstThe Line of Beauty
2003DBC PierreVernon God Little
2002Yann MartelLife of Pi
2001Peter CareyTrue History of the Kelly Gang
2000Margaret AtwoodThe Blind Assassin
1999J M CoetzeeDisgrace
1998Ian McEwanAmsterdam
1997Arundhati RoyThe God of Small Things
1996Graham SwiftLast Orders
1995Pat BarkerThe Ghost Road
1994James KelmanHow Late It Was, How Late
1993Roddy DoylePaddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha
Michael Ondaatje &
Barry Unsworth
The English Patient &
Sacred Hunger
1991Ben OkriThe Famished Road
1990A S ByattPossession
1989Kazuo IshiguroThe Remains of the Day
1988Peter CareyOscar and Lucinda
1987Penelope LivelyMoon Tiger
1986Kingsley AmisThe Old Devils
1985Keri HulmeThe Bone People
1984Anita BrooknerHotel du Lac
1983J M CoetzeeLife & Times of Michael K
1982Thomas KeneallySchindler's Ark
1981Salman RushdieMidnight's Children
1980William GoldingRites of Passage
1979Penelope FitzgeraldOffshore
1978Iris MurdochThe Sea
1977Paul ScottStaying On
1976David StoreySaville
1975Ruth Prawer JhabvalaHeat and Dust
Nadine Gordimer &
Stanley Middleton
The Conservationist &
1973J G FarrellThe Siege of Krishnapur
1972John BergerG
1971V S NaipaulIn a Free State
1970Bernice RubensThe Elected Member
1969P H NewbySomething to Answer For

2006 Man Booker prize longlist

The 19 longlisted books in alphabetical order. Click on the title to order from Amazon:

Booker prize nominated books

24/7 Online Loans

Quiz Categories

Pub Quizzes

Site Navigation

Suggestions or corrections email me