Lists of past editors of British newspapers

24/7 Online Loans

Quiz Categories

Pub Quizzes

Site Navigation

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Get Firefox!

Newspaper Editors

The following tables list the past editors of some of Britain's best known national newspapers. I have had trouble finding information about some past editors so if anybody can help fill in some of the gaps it would be appreciated! Let me know here.

The Times - founded 1785

Editors of The Times Editorship
Robert Thomson 2002-present
Peter Stothard 1992-2002
Simon Jenkins 1990-1992
Charles Wilson 1985-1990
Charles Douglas-Home 1982-1985
Harold Evans 1981-1982
William Rees-Mogg 1967-1981
William Haley 1952-1966
William Casey 1948-1952
Robert McGowan Barrington-Ward 1941-1948
Geoffrey Dawson 1923-1941
Henry Wickham Steed 1919-1922
Geoffrey Dawson 1912-1919
George Earle Buckle 1884-1912
Thomas Chenery 1877-1884
John Delane 1841-1877
Thomas Barnes 1817-1841
John Stoddart 1809-1817
John Walter 1803-1809
John Walter 1785-1803

The Guardian - date founded - 1821

Editors of The Guardian Editorship
Alan Rusbridger 1995-present
Peter Preston 1975-1995
Alastair Hetherington 1956-1975
Alfred Powell Wadsworth 1944-1956
William Percival Crozier 1932-1944
Ted Scott 1929-1932
Charles Prestwich Scott 1872-1929

The Daily Telegraph - founded 1855

Editors of The Daily Telegraph Period of
Martin Newland2003-present
Charles Moore1995-2003
Sir Max Hastings1986-1995
Lord William. F. Deedes1974-1986

The Financial Times - first published 1888

Editors of The Financial Times Editorship
Lionel Barbernov 2005-present
Andrew Gowers2001-2005
Richard Lambert1991-2001
Geoffrey Owen 1980-1991
Fredy Fisher1972-1980
Gordon Newton1949-1972
Hargreaves Parkinson1945-1949
A.G. Cole1940 - 1945
D.S. T. Hunter1937 - 1940
C.H. Palmer1909 - 1924
A.E. Murrayc.1896 - 1909
Sydney Murray1892 - 1895
W.R. Lawson1890 - 1892
Douglas MacRae1889 - 1890
Leopold Graham 1888 - 1889

The Independent - first published 1986

Editors of The Independent Editorship
Simon Kelnermay 1998-present
Andrew Marr & Rosie Boycottmar 1998 - may 1998
Rosie Boycottjan 1998 - mar 1998
Andrew Marr1996 - jan 1998
Charles Wilson1995-1996
Ian Hargreaves 1994-1995
Andreas Whittam-Smith1986-1994

The Sun - founded 1964

Editors of The Sun Editorship
Rebekah Wade2003-present
David Yelland1998-2003
Stuart Higgins1994-1998
Kelvin MacKenzie1981-1994
Larry Lamb1968-1981
Dick Dinsdale1965-1968
Sidney Jacobsen1964-1965

Daily Mirror - first published 1903

Editors of The Daily Mirror Dates of
Richard Wallace2004-present
Piers Morgan1995-2004
Colin Myler1994-1995
Richard Stott1990-1994
Roy Greenslade?-1990

Daily Mail - founded 1896

Editors of Daily Mail Editorship
Paul Dacre1992-present
David English1971-1992
Frank Owen1947-1950

Daily Express - first published 1900

Editors of Daily Express Editorship
Peter Hill2003-present
Chris Williams2001-2003
Rosie Boycott1998-2001
Richard Addis1995-1998

Suggestions or corrections email me