World Series Winners

24/7 Online Loans

Quiz Categories

Pub Quizzes

Site Navigation

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Get Firefox!

Baseball World Series

The World Series is the end of season championship contest of Major League Baseball based in North America. The winner of the series is determined by a best-of-seven game playoff between the winners of each of the baseball leagues - The American League and the National League.

The following table lists the past winners of the World Series, the score being the number of games (out of 7) each team won.

Year Winning Team Score Losing Team
2005Chicago White Sox40Houston Astros
2004Boston Redsox40St. Louis Cardinals
2003Florida Marlins42New York Yankees
2002Anaheim Angels43San Francisco Giants
2001Arizona Diamondbacks43New York Yankees
2000New York Yankees41New York Mets
1999New York Yankees40Atlanta Braves
1998New York Yankees40San Diego Padres
1997Florida Marlins43Cleveland Indians
1996New York Yankees42Atlanta Braves
1995Atlanta Braves41Cleveland Indians
1994No World Series--Players Strike
1993Toronto Blue Jays42Philadelphia Phillies
1992Toronto Blue Jays42Atlanta Braves
1991Minnesota Twins43Atlanta Braves
1990Cincinnati Reds40Oakland Athletics
1989Oakland Athletics40San Francisco Giants
1988Los Angeles Dodgers41Oakland Athletics
1987Minnesota Twins43St. Louis Cardinals
1986New York Mets43Boston Red Sox
1985Kansas City Royals43St. Louis Cardinals
1984Detroit Tigers41San Diego Padres
1983Baltimore Orioles41Philadelphia Phillies
1982St. Louis Cardinals43Milwaukee Brewers
1981Los Angeles Dodgers42New York Yankees
1980Philadelphia Phillies42Kansas City Royals
1979Pittsburgh Pirates43Baltimore Orioles
1978New York Yankees42Los Angeles Dodgers
1977New York Yankees42Los Angeles Dodgers
1976Cincinnati Reds40New York Yankees
1975Cincinnati Reds43Boston Red Sox
1974Oakland Athletics41Los Angeles Dodgers
1973Oakland Athletics43New York Mets
1972Oakland Athletics43Cincinnati Reds
1971Pittsburgh Pirates43Baltimore Orioles
1970Baltimore Orioles41Cincinnati Reds
1969New York Mets41Baltimore Orioles
1968Detroit Tigers43St. Louis Cardinals
1967St. Louis Cardinals43Boston Red Sox
1966Baltimore Orioles40Los Angeles Dodgers
1965Los Angeles Dodgers43Minnesota Twins
1964St. Louis Cardinals43New York Yankees
1963Los Angeles Dodgers40New York Yankees
1962New York Yankees43San Francisco Giants
1961New York Yankees41Cincinnati Reds
1960Pittsburgh Pirates43New York Yankees
1959Los Angeles Dodgers42Chicago White Sox
1958New York Yankees43Milwaukee Braves
1957Milwaukee Braves43New York Yankees
1956New York Yankees43Brooklyn Dodgers
1955Brooklyn Dodgers43New York Yankees
1954New York Giants40Cleveland Indians
1953New York Yankees42Brooklyn Dodgers
1952New York Yankees43Brooklyn Dodgers
1951New York Yankees42New York Giants
1950New York Yankees40Philadelphia Phillies
1949New York Yankees41Brooklyn Dodgers
1948Cleveland Indians42Boston Braves
1947New York Yankees43Brooklyn Dodgers
1946St. Louis Cardinals43Boston Red Sox
1945Detroit Tigers43Chicago Cubs
1944St. Louis Cardinals42St. Louis Browns
1943New York Yankees41St. Louis Cardinals
1942St. Louis Cardinals41New York Yankees
1941New York Yankees41Brooklyn Dodgers
1940Cincinnati Reds43Detroit Tigers
1939New York Yankees40Cincinnati Reds
1938New York Yankees40Chicago Cubs
1937New York Yankees41New York Giants
1936New York Yankees42New York Giants
1935Detroit Tigers42Chicago Cubs
1934St. Louis Cardinals43Detroit Tigers
1933New York Giants41Washington Nationals
1932New York Yankees40Chicago Cubs
1931St. Louis Cardinals43Philadelphia Athletics
1930Philadelphia Athletics42St. Louis Cardinals
1929Philadelphia Athletics41Chicago Cubs
1928New York Yankees40St. Louis Cardinals
1927New York Yankees40Pittsburgh Pirates
1926St. Louis Cardinals43New York Yankees
1925Pittsburgh Pirates43Washington Nationals
1924Washington Nationals43New York Giants
1923New York Yankees42New York Giants
1922New York Giants40New York Yankees
1921New York Giants53New York Yankees
1920Cleveland Indians52Brooklyn Robins
1919Cincinnati Reds53Chicago White Sox
1918Boston Red Sox42Chicago Cubs
1917Chicago White Sox42New York Giants
1916Boston Red Sox41Brooklyn Robins
1915Boston Red Sox41Philadelphia Phillies
1914Boston Braves40Philadelphia Athletics
1913Philadelphia Athletics41New York Giants
1912Boston Red Sox43New York Giants
1911Philadelphia Athletics42New York Giants
1910Philadelphia Athletics41Chicago Cubs
1909Pittsburgh Pirates43Detroit Tigers
1908Chicago Cubs41Detroit Tigers
1907Chicago Cubs40Detroit Tigers
1906Chicago White Sox42Chicago Cubs
1905New York Giants41Philadelphia Athletics
1904No World Series--Team refused to play
1903Boston Pilgrims53Pittsburgh Pirates

Suggestions or corrections email me [email protected]