Past UEFA Champions League Winners

24/7 Online Loans

Quiz Categories

Pub Quizzes

Site Navigation

UEFA Champions League

Past Winners

The Champions League is a football tournament between the best clubs in Europe. Originally the format of the competition was for just the winners of each participating country's domestic league to compete against each other in a two leg knock out contest. In those days the comp was just known as the European Cup. In 1992 the format of the competition was changed to allow more of the top flight football teams from highly ranked countries to enter. Up to 4 teams from one country can now play. The format of the tournament is now 3 qualifying rounds for lower placed teams and lower ranked countries followed by a group stage or mini-league which is then followed by a knock-out round for the remaining 16 teams.

Due to football hooliganism English clubs were banned from the champions league for 5 years in 1985, and Liverpool was banned for a further 2 years.

Below are listed the winning teams of the Champions league since it started in 1956. The table includes the winners, runner-up and score. The year refers to the year the trophy was awarded, the actual competition starts at the beginning of the football season which is usually autumn of the previous year.

Year Winning
Football Club
Score Runner-up
Football Team
2008Manchester United FC6-5 penalties
1-1 after extra time
Chelsea FC
2007AC Milan2-1Liverpool
2006FC Barcelona2-1Arsenal
2005Liverpool3-2 penalties
3-3 after extra time
AC Milan
2004FC Porto3-0AS Monaco FC
2003AC Milan3-2 penalties
0-0 after extra time
Juventus FC
2002Real Madrid CF2-1Bayer Leverkusen
2001FC Bayern München5-4 penalties
1-1 after extra time
Valencia CF
2000Real Madrid CF3-0Valencia CF
1999Manchester United FC2-1FC Bayern München
1998Real Madrid CF1-0Juventus FC
1997Borussia Dortmund3-1Juventus FC
1996Juventus FC4-2 penalties
1-1 after extra time
AFC Ajax
1995AFC Ajax1-0AC Milan
1994AC Milan4-0FC Barcelona
1993Olympique de Marseille1-0AC Milan
1992FC Barcelona1-0
after extra time
Sampdoria UC
1991Red Star Belgrade5-3 penalties
0-0 after extra time
1990AC Milan1-0 Benfica
1989AC Milan4-0Steaua Bucharest
1988PSV Eindhoven6-5 penalties
0-0 after extra time
1987Porto2-1Bayern Munich
1986Steaua Bucharest2-0 penalties
0-0 after extra time
1984Liverpool4-2 penalties
1-1 after extra time
1982Aston Villa1-0Bayern Munich
1981Liverpool1-0Real Madrid
1980Nottingham Forest1-0Hamburg
1979Nottingham Forest1-0Malmö
1978Liverpool1-0Club Brugge
1977Liverpool3-1Borussia Mönchengladbach
1976Bayern Munich1-0Saint-Etienne
1975Bayern Munich2-0Leeds United
1974Bayern Munich4-0 replay
1-1 after extra time
Atlético de Madrid
1972Ajax2-0Inter Milan
after extra time
1969AC Milan4-1Benfica
1968Manchester United4-1
after extra time
1967Celtic2-1Inter Milan
1966Real Madrid2-1Partizan Belgrade
1965Inter Milan1-0Benfica
1964Inter Milan3-1Real Madrid
1963AC Milan2-1Benfica
1962Benfica5-3Real Madrid
1960Real Madrid7-3Eintracht Frankfurt
1959Real Madrid2-0Stade de Reims
1958Real Madrid3-2
after extra time
AC Milan
1957Real Madrid2-0Fiorentina
1956Real Madrid4-3Stade de Reims

For lots more Champions League info, have a look at this Champions League Database site.

Suggestions or corrections email me [email protected]