European cup football winners list- national sides

24/7 Online Loans

Quiz Categories

Pub Quizzes

Site Navigation

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

European Cup Football

The European Championship (usually abbreviated to EURO 2004 or EURO '96 etc) is the main national football competition of the UEFA nations. Held every four years since 1960 it was originally called the European Nations Cup, changing to the current name in 1968.

Until 1976 only four teams entered the final tournament. From 1980 eight teams competed and this was increased to sixteen teams in 1996. The competing teams are chosen by a series of qualifying games, in 1960 and 1964 just home and away play-offs but from 1968 qualifying leagues were played and then also play-off games, the host country qualifies automatically.

Year Winner Score Runner-up Host Nation
2008   Austria / Switzerland
2000France2-1 (extra time)ItalyBelgium / Netherlands
1996Germany2-1 (extra time)Czech RepublicEngland
1988Netherlands2-0USSRW. Germany
1980W. Germany2-1BelgiumItaly
1976Czech Republic2-2 (penalties)W. GermanyYugoslavia
1972W. Germany3-0USSRBelgium
1968Italy1-1 / 2-0 (replay)YugoslaviaItaly
Suggestions or corrections email me [email protected]