Premiership (or top division) club who were winners, were promoted, or relegated

24/7 Online Loans

Quiz Categories

Pub Quizzes

Site Navigation

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Football Winners & Losers


The table below shows for each season of top flight football, either premiership or first division, the top 3 teams, the teams who were relegated and the teams who were promoted.

Season Top 3 Teams Relegated Promoted
?West Bromwich AlbionSheffield United
2004-05Chelsea 95ptsCrystal Palace 33ptsSunderland 94pts
Arsenal 83ptsNorwich City 33ptsWigan Athletic 87pts
Manchester United 77ptsSouthampton 32ptsWest Ham United 73pts
2003-04Arsenal 90ptsLeicester City 33ptsNorwich City
Chelsea 79ptsLeeds United 33ptsWest Bromwich Albion
Manchester United 75ptsWolves 33ptsCrystal Palace
2002-03Manchester United West Ham UnitedLeicester City
Arsenal West Bromich AlbionPortsmouth
2001-02Arsenal Ipswich TownMan City
LiverpoolDerby CountyWest Bromwich Albion
Manchester UnitedLeicester CityBirmingham City
2000-01Manchester UnitedMan CityFulham
ArsenalCoventry CityBlackburn Rovers
LiverpoolBradford CityBolton Wanderers
1999-00Manchester United WimbledonCharlton Athletic
Arsenal Sheffield WednesdayMan City
LeedsWatfordIpswich Town
1998-99Manchester United Charlton AthleticSunderland
Arsenal Blackburn RoversBradford City
ChelseaNottingham ForestWatford
1997-98Arsenal Bolton WanderersNottingham Forest
Manchester United BarnsleyMiddlesbrough
LiverpoolCrystal PalaceCharlton Athletic
1996-97Manchester United SunderlandBolton Wanderers
Newcastle MiddlesbroughBarnsley
ArsenalNottingham ForestCrystal Palace
1995-96Manchester United ManchesterCitySunderland
Newcastle QPRDerby County
LiverpoolBolton WanderersLeicester City
1994-95*Blackburn Crystal PalaceMiddlesbrough
Manchester United Norwich CityBolton Wanderers
Nottingham ForestLeicester City 
 Ipswich Town 
1993-94Manchester United Sheffield UnitedCrystal Palace
Blackburn Oldham AthleticNottingham Forest
NewcastleSwindon TownLeicester City
1992-93**Manchester United Crystal PalaceNewcastle United
Aston Villa MiddlesbroughWest Ham United
NorwichNottingham ForestSwindon Town
1991-92Leeds Luton TownIpswich Town
Manchester United Notts CountyMiddlesbrough
Sheff WednesdayWest Ham UnitedBlackburn Rovers
1990-91***Arsenal SunderlandOldham Athletic
Liverpool Derby CountyWest Ham United
Crystal Palace Sheffield Wednesday
  Notts County
1989-90Liverpool Sheffield WednesdayLeeds United
Aston Villa Charlton AthleticSheffield United
1988-89Arsenal MiddlesbroughChelsea
Liverpool West Ham unitedManchester City
Nottingham ForestNewcastle UnitedCrystal Palace

* Year of change from 22 teams in league to 20. Therefore 4 teams relegated and only 2 teams promoted
** Year First Division become The Premiership
*** Year of change from 20 teams to 22 teams. Therefore 2 teams relegated and 4 teams promoted

Suggestions or corrections email me [email protected]