Past winners of the Grand National horse race

24/7 Online Loans

Quiz Categories

Pub Quizzes

Site Navigation

Grand National Winners

A list of past winners of the world famous Grand National horse race. The first Grand National meeting was run in Maghull in 1837 and was won by "The Duke". Since 1839 the worlds premier horse race has been held at Aintree. 40 horses are able to compete around the 4 and half mile course - (two laps of Aintree) and have to successfully jump 30 fences. The Grand National is the country's most popular event to place a bet on. With a very high percentage of people gambling on the result of the gruelling steeplechase

Listed in the table below are all the grand national winners since 1960 including the name of the horse, the jockey, the trainer and the starting price odds for betting

Year Winning Horse Jockey Trainer Starting Price
2008Comply or DieTim MurphyDavid Pipe7 to 1 f
2007Silver BirchRobbie PowerGordon Elliott33 to 1
2006NumbersixvalverdeNiall MaddenMartin Brassil11 to 1
2005HedgehunterRuby WalshWillie Mullins7 to 1 f
2004Amberleigh HouseGraham LeeDonald McCain16 to 1
2003Monty's PassBarry GeraghtyJimmy Mangan16 to 1
2002BindareeJim CullotyNigel Twiston-Davies20 to 1
2001Red MarauderRichard GuestNorman Mason33 to 1
2000PapillonRuby WalshTed Walsh10 to 1
1999BobbyjoPaul CarberryTommy Carberry10 to 1
1998Earth SummitCarl LlewellynNigel Twiston-Davies7 to 1 f
1997Lord GylleneTony DobbinSteve Brookshaw14 to 1
1996Rough QuestMick FitzgeraldTerry Casey7 to 1 f
1995Royal AtheleteJason TitleyJenny Pitman40 to 1
1994MinnehomaRichard DunwoodyMartin Pipe16 to 1
1993Race Void - false starts, Esha Ness finished first
1992Party PoliticsCarl LlewellynNick Gaselee14 to 1
1991SeagramNigel HawkeDavid Barons12 to 1
1990Mr FriskMarcus ArmytageKim Bailey16 to 1
1989Little PolveirJimmy FrostToby Balding28 to 1
1988Rhyme n ReasonBrendan PowellDavid Elsworth10 to 1
1987Maori VentureSteve KnightAndrew Turnell28 to 1
1986West TipRichard DunwoodyMichael Oliver15 to 2
1985Last SuspectHywel DaviesTim Forster50 to 1
1984Hallo DandyNeale DoughtyGordon Richards13 to 1
1983CorbiereBen de HaanJenny Pitman13 to 1
1982GrittarDick SaundersFrank Gilman7 to 1 f
1981AldanitiBob ChampionJosh Gifford10 to 1
1980Ben NevisCharlie FenwickTim Forster40 to 1
1979RubsticMaurice BarnesJohn Leadbetter25 to 1
1978LuciusBob DaviesGordon Richards14 to 1
1977Red RumTommy StackDonald McCain9 to 1
1976Rag TradeJohn BurkeFred Rimell14 to 1
1975L'EscargotTommy CarberryDan Moore13 to 2
1974Red RumBrian FletcherDonald McCain11 to 1
1973Red RumBrian FletcherDonald McCain9 to 1 Jt f
1972Well To DoGraham ThornerTim Forster14 to 1
1971SpecifyJohn CookJohn Sutcliffe28 to 1
1970Gay TripPat TaaffeFred Rimell15 to 1
1969Highland WeddingEddie HartyToby Balding100 to 9
1968Red AlligatorBrian FletcherDenys Smith100 to 7
1967FoinavonJohn BuckinghamJohn Kempton100 to 1
1966AngloTim NormanFred Winter50 to 1
1965Jay TrumpTommy SmithFred Winter100 to 6
1964Team SpiritGeorge RobinsonFulke Walwyn18 to 1
1963AyalaPat BuckleyKeith Piggott66 to 1
1962KilmoreFred WinterRyan Price28 to 1
1961Nicolaus SilverBobby BeasleyFred Rimel28 to 1
1960Merryman IIGerry ScottNeville Crump13 to 2 f
Suggestions or corrections email me [email protected]