Football players of the year as voted by the PFA and FWA

24/7 Online Loans

Quiz Categories

Pub Quizzes

Site Navigation

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!

Football Players of the Year

PFA and FWA footballers of the year

Each year the members of the PFA - Professional Footballers Association - (which is the union most footballers belong to) vote for the best player and young player of the season in the domestic English league. The award is also known as the players player award because it's actually the players themselves who vote and decide the winner.

Similarly the members of the FWA - Football Writers' Association - also vote for their best player of the season. The FWA is made up of journalists and sports reporters. Both awards are high accolades for any player and in the table below is a list of the past winners of the title player of the year.

Year PFA player of
the year
PFA young player
of the year
FWA player of
the year
2006Stephen GerradWayne RooneyThierry Henry
LiverpoolManchester UnitedArsenal
2005John TerryWayne RooneyFrank Lampard
ChelseaManchester UnitedChelsea
2004Thierry HenryScott ParkerThierry Henry
2003Thierry HenryJermaine JenasThierry Henry
ArsenalNewcastle UnitedArsenal
2002Ruud van NistelrooyCraig BellamyRobert Pires
Manchester UnitedNewcastle UnitedArsenal
2001Teddy SheringhamSteven GerrardTeddy Sheringham
Manchester UnitedLiverpoolManchester United
2000Roy KeaneHarry KewellRoy Keane
Manchester UnitedLeeds UnitedManchester United
1999David GinolaNicolas AnelkaDavid Ginola
Tottenham HotspurArsenalTottenham Hotspur
1998Dennis BergkampMichael OwenDennis Bergkamp
1997Alan ShearerDavid BeckhamGianfranco Zola
Newcastle UnitedManchester UnitedChelsea
1996Les FerdinandRobbie FowlerEric Cantona
Newcastle UnitedLiverpoolManchester United
1995Alan ShearerRobbie FowlerJürgen Klinsmann
Blackburn RoversLiverpoolTottenham Hotspur
1994Eric CantonaAndy ColeAlan Shearer
Manchester UnitedNewcastle UnitedBlackburn
1993Paul McGrathRyan GiggsChris Waddle
Aston VillaManchester UnitedSheffield Wednesday
1992Gary PallisterRyan GiggsGary Lineker
Manchester UnitedManchester UnitedTottenham Hotspur
1991Mark HughesLee SharpeGordon Strachan
Manchester UnitedManchester UnitedLeeds United
1990David PlattMatthew Le TissierJohn Barnes
Aston VillaSouthamptonLiverpool
1989Mark HughesPaul MersonSteve Nicol
Manchester UnitedArsenalLiverpool
1988John BarnesPaul GascoigneJohn Barnes
LiverpoolNewcastle UnitedLiverpool
1987Clive AllenTony AdamsClive Allen
Tottenham HotspurArsenalTottenham Hotspur
1986Gary LinekerTony CotteeGary Lineker
EvertonWest Ham UnitedEverton
1985Peter ReidMark HughesNeville Southall
EvertonManchester UnitedEverton
1984Ian RushPaul WalshIan Rush
LiverpoolLuton TownLiverpool
1983Kenny DalglishIan RushKenny Dalglish
1982Kevin KeeganSteve MoranSteve Perryman
SouthamptonSouthamptonTottenham Hotspur
1981John WarkGary ShawFrans Thijssen
Ipswich TownAston VillaIpswich Town
1980Terry McDermottGlenn HoddleTerry McDermott
LiverpoolTottenham HotspurLiverpool
1979Liam BradyCyrille RegisKenny Dalglish
ArsenalWest Bromwich AlbionLiverpool
1978Peter ShiltonTony WoodcockKenny Burns
Nottingham ForestNottingham ForestNottingham Forest
1977Andy GrayAndy GrayEmlyn Hughes
Aston VillaAston VillaLiverpool
1976Pat JenningsPeter BarnesKevin Keegan
Tottenham HotspurManchester CityLiverpool
1975Colin ToddMervyn DayAlan Mullery
Derby CountyWest Ham UnitedFulham
1974Norman HunterKevin BeattieIan Callaghan
Leeds UnitedIpswich TownLiverpool

Earlier winners of the FWA player of the year

The PFA awards only started in 1974 however the football writers association awarded the best player of the year since 1948

Year FWA player of the year
1973Pat Jennings
Tottenham Hotspur
1972Gordon Banks
Stoke City
1971Frank McLintock
1970Billy Bremner
Leeds United
1969Tony Book and Dave Mackay
Manchester City and Derby County
1968George Best
Manchester United
1967Jack Charlton
Leeds United
1966Bobby Charlton
Manchester United
1965Bobby Collins
Leeds United
1964Bobby Moore
West Ham United
1963Stanley Matthews
Stoke City
1962Jimmy Adamson
1961Danny Blanchflower
Tottenham Hotspur
1960Bill Slater
Wolverhampton Wanderers
1959Syd Owen
Luton Town
1958Danny Blanchflower
Tottenham Hotspur
1957Tom Finney
Preston North End
1956Bert Trautmann
Manchester City
1955Don Revie
Manchester City
1954Tom Finney
Preston North End
1953Nat Lofthouse
Bolton Wanderers
1952Billy Wright
Wolverhampton Wanderers
1951Harry Johnston
1950Joe Mercer
1949Johnny Carey
Manchester United
1948Stanley Matthews
Suggestions or corrections email me